Building Further Episodes (17, 18, etc.)

All right! I found where Chris Jennings shows up! DS Episode 627. You can imagine my delight at seeing the latest change in Collinsport I’ve been looking forward to reaching for three years. Ah… Donnie.

627-donnie-with-hearts

Blending him in will be a treat and perhaps he’ll encounter Maggie first in The Pit. If this becomes the case there won’t be as much worry about her misunderstanding anything or jumping to the conclusion that Chris is Tom risen from the grave. With various lifetimes in tow Maggie Evans is coming into discovery of her identity.

Something she tends to get wistful about on Dark Shadows is being uncertain of who she is. In The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows this is being addressed and she still has her father to counsel with on that score since Sam Evans is not dead and he is also a reincarnation of Andre du Pres for this radio drama. Spooky is always in the air, but healing continues for our beloved characters.

However I have a very unique experience in (re)watching Dark Shadows now. If I’ve altered it or fixed something? I get to z-o-o-m through a scene. There are things that are essential to The Pit going on in Dark Shadows via these 620’s and 630’s episodes, like Victoria’s wedding. In The Pit that wedding happened ages ago, but whatever there is in uplifting material? Sure! That can have happened before. One thing Victoria says in her wedding gown to Elizabeth strikes a cord, “Collinwood will always mean home to me.” ❤ Absolutely,  girl!

And Victoria’s potential in these Dark Shadows episodes pleases me a great deal. Stand-In actress or no, Victoria  remains determined in her belief Maggie should never marry Nicholas Blair and even goes so far as to confront him that she’ll stop it from happening. “Go, Victoria!” I cheer.

Having discussed these episodes over the phone with friends this week, we’re all in some agreement that how long the Adam & Eve story line stretched out and what random things thrown into it weren’t too much to any of our likings. However, I had one little joy in Vampire Angelique going down for a tattle on Nicholas Blair to Diablos.

diablos-cafe

Diablos Cafe. Choose your beverage quickly, Angelique. For it may be your last!

Truly. I watch this and I’m thinking, again, he looks like he’s running a café and you must order NOW! Diablos might refuse to discuss the situation until a latte with blackened froth is shared between them. The other idea I have, considering the wrought iron design in the background is that perhaps this is Diablos’ Café and Chinese Restaurant. In fact, I think I might have gone to this place once in a seaside town. Perhaps even Milligan and Hecubus will get a kick out of this one. Who has the better digs? Them or Diablos?

In any case, we are now in…*drumroll*… Autumn of 1968. And that means there are two other shows I need to follow closely: The Ghost & Mrs. Muir and Bewitched. Did I mess up anything in their time lines?

So far, no! Hurrah! Yes, there is mention to The Ghost & Mrs. Muir episode 11 “Captain Gregg’s Whiz-Bang”. It was released near the end of 1968 so it works out fine. Captain Gregg inserts racy material into a new story they wrote together for a magazine. This gets Mrs. Muir into trouble as it alters her reputation in the eyes of lonely men everywhere and Mrs. Muir expresses in The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows, Episode 10:

capt-greggs-whiz-bang-sword

“I’m still trying to shuck off that odd publicity I got when you took that little liberty of yours in re-writing one of my stories.”

So working in a manner of semi-vague time placement with where in a season of the year we are per program? I’m doing pretty well. Until I reach parts of Dark Shadows that happen in 1969, I’m alright adding back-history from The Ghost & Mrs. Muir via their episodes 1-14.

Bewitched is another story entirely. They’ve been on since 1964. In the Fall of 1968 Bewitched is having its fifth season. My catch up with The Stephens and Endora is a ton of study and I’m very thankful that the stories are so bright and upbeat.

5x01-samantha-s-wedding-present-bewitched-24516777-500-375

So for Bewitched I need to verse myself through the first four seasons and can use their back-history up into the thirteenth episode of its fifth season, which is called “Instant Courtesy.” By this time Darrin and Samantha’s daughter, Tabitha, is already born but not Adam Stephens yet. Serena and Uncle Arthur are in the show on occasion so this adds to whatever I need to pick up and store in the general air of The Stephens home.

I’m hoping to get Captain Gregg, Sam Evans and possibly Maggie out there by Episode 18 in The Pit. (We’ll have to coax Captain Gregg to go, I’m sure. I can already tell he is not looking forward to it.)

vanessa-13

 

 

Leave a Reply

