Baby Sarah’s First Word: Margaret Josette Dupres continues…

Sam painting Barnabas and Maggie

Lots of delight as well as intrigue went into this one. Looks like I haven’t managed to get a new chapter of “Margaret Josette Dupres” up since March. However, as any of the podcast listeners know, in my own original fiction I don’t do babies. (Okay, I did them once: triplets. I did that because of a crazy dream I had, and I didn’t put a ton of effort into it as I was about 14 at the time.)

It surprised me how many people joined in. Willie is there, a cousin is mentioned but not named since that would make this book four fandoms and I’d like to stick to three, as well as Sam (who is also Andre). Sam expresses some deeper meaning to everything and I was especially pleased when he summed up the reincarnation aspect and what sets Barnabas Collins apart from so many others like himself and Maggie. The Evans’ (Dupres’) are given much to digest and reflect during their journey together in this.

Ezra Braithwaite is also mentioned. I decided to save him too and realized I wouldn’t require an added fandom to keep Ezra, I’d just need him to wear the correct pair of glasses. 😉 I was jovially told once that since the actor who played him (Abe Vigoda) has been with us so long and vitally, why shouldn’t Ezra Braithwaite enjoy the same?

Having not been up for this couple having children, I realized with so much reincarnation I wouldn’t need to invent anyone new. No. What would they want? Sarah as a living, breathing girl and given the life that was taken from her so many years ago. Yes, this does technically make Sarah her own auntie, but when I recognized the age difference between Barnabas and Sarah, as well as their own father being the piece-of-work that he is, Barnabas likely was more a father figure than Joshua in the 1790’s anyway. Plus, since Caleb’s 100 year contract-to-haunt means he would be gone by 1972, this way we get to have him back, and a possible brother-type for Sarah as well.

Anytime I’m out, which isn’t often, I will definitely take good stock of peoples’ babies these days. I’ve also been studying the gradual change with the growth of infants. For me the experience has to be as accurate as possible to be believable, supernatural broo-ha and all. So each successive chapter (minus further time our couple enjoys more private marital bliss) shall be put forth with Sarah’s development. If Barnabas and Maggie are wed in 1969, we may presume now this is 1976. I hope you enjoy what comes from Maggie’s pen and of course reflections of that enjoyment are most welcome. Here is the link to read the chapter:

Chapter 38: My Life, Myself, My Child


It came out to be over 4,500 words, which I tried to avoid. When chapters are that long I find anything I might be excited hearing about won’t be referred to and that’s half the excitement of sharing the work, that hope for reflection. Well, I’ve been brought this far. Perhaps change will come. ❤

Peace.

3 thoughts on “Baby Sarah’s First Word: Margaret Josette Dupres continues…

  1. cynthia curran says:

    Well, Joshua cat is going to be a happy grandpa later on in your story. Naomi can comeback as a dog or some other animal and a happy grandma.

    • morlock13 says:

      Yeppers. Well, I’m not seeing Joshua as a reincarnation in kitty form. I think it shall be a nod of the one spell Angelique did that, well, in retrospect, wasn’t so bad. 😉

  2. On my way to read now 🙂

Leave a Reply

