Episode 15: Tech and Scenes

I have the latest creation of Episode 15 in progress. I remember one reviewer, who’s been M.I.A. lately, requested that he was looking forward to more original Dark Shadows music. This let me know what he was hoping and looking forward to so I went all out and started to purchase some more goodies. I’m with him that it enhances the mood. In this discussion, however hilarious with Nicholas Blair and Vampire Angelique, present certain additives that are beneficial. I’m finding this one gem called “Wailing Theremin (Angelique)”. I think it really could set the tone for her discussions on death and what that was like. Things of this nature bring back my intrigue for production and quality. (Definitely beats some of the rudeness I’ve been gleaning off to the side via areas I’ve been asking for help, and then getting quick-to-judge types throwing harsh words out for no particular reason. People? The world is filled with a wild richness of entertainment. Go find something you like and quit bothering me. Thanks.)

On the other hand some of the review-swaps and workshops are bringing in a trickle of hope. I’ve had some messages letting me know, “I love your rants! It shows you’re human. If people can’t understand your obvious need for feedback with such hard work? Just rant some more!” LOL! Well, I don’t know about that. I’d rather get more constructive stuff done, but, oh, my gosh! That is certainly encouragement right there! I’m also wondering if something is up in new applications but a couple people have been pointing out the otr effect: “Old Time Radio”. I’d say my project has that. I’ve looked into the other productions where they bring back the same actors to either perform new roles or old ones. I remember one had a ghost of Caleb Collins and I thought, “Ohhh, if only I could afford that.” Then I pulled back and realized if I was basing everything on The Coffin Box DVD set (along with the other shows and movies) to the best of my ability, no. Don’t get the new radio dramas other than for listening to voice structure. And the music is similar but it’s too slick for me. I prefer more of an old-time sound and with the Dark Shadows original music I feel it’s more appropriate. I would love more music from other shows if I can find them. I am absolutely thrilled with the effect the Clue soundtrack has on Willie and Wadsworth scene in “A Balancing of The Humours”. It was the perfect touch! 🙂

Meh… arg… well the wailing theremin did sound good in the mix… but I can hardly tell with… the leaf blower outside… ugh… :/

Now this is good. Someone told me recently I got Angelique’s voice as perfect as I could. That was from an earlier episode, but as for this one… Gosh, that breathy maneuver of hers is pretty fun. Oh, I can’t wait to do more voice-acting. I really miss it. Also this episode with the newer attempts at Lily are also good. I remember a super long cold where I double checked as much of her screen-time as I could. For The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows I look back and felt maybe she was too cheerful. At the same time… Herman, and even Grandpa, could seriously irk her at home. I think she was so thrilled to go on a trip she brightened even more. But now I’ll try and get my adoptee into more of her motherly aspect. I think she feels very at home in Collinwood but with that sense of wonder why everyone is so uptight about things of the spooky nature. It’s the more modern and mundane foibles that get on her nerves.

10687054_811563872228011_4165132913829111405_n

I know how you feel, my dear. Modern foibles certainly have made my life more difficult these days.

Uh-oh… Well it does make me less bored but I’m hitting the sauce again. And that means… *sigh* my mind has slowed to the point that a lot of this audio dialogue sounds faster. So I think what I’ll focus on is eliminating flubs rather than worrying about silence timing. (Yes, when I become intoxicated I am well aware of the changes it makes in my focusing skills. I use this as a tool in many regards, not simply as a way of loosening up.) I think it’s time to get the coffee on the perk here…

Ep 21 CAROLYN Think itll perk faster if you stare at it

(DS ep. 21) CAROLYN: Think it’ll perk faster if you stare at it?

Nah… I just like to listen to the burbling in the background, but this is likely how I feel when I’m staring at an audio file. Maybe the episode will just be created faster if I stare at it… or when I look at my stat numbers for downloads and reads… maybe if I just stare at them I’ll get the discussion faster. Meh… hasn’t worked in over three years…

Okay, ladies: Morticia, Victoria, Grandmama? I am not going over this scene again. I altered the volume in voices to the best of my ability, saved the file as-is and am done with it. However it comes out, it comes out. Now onto the next scene…

A discussion between Maggie and Barnabas in Josette’s room. This needs attention. There are a lot of words that are two low in volume and, even in my current state, I can tell many of these silences are far too long. The occurrence itself is unique. I was telling a friend about this. Maggie as Josette and in her old room behaves more like Josette than elsewhere. She’s more contemplative, serene, which represents her ghostly persona as well as her original one. I’d written the text and done the demo in 2013 and didn’t quite notice that difference. This was the journey I was looking forward to with her, not having realized how far we’d moved into it. That quietude of reflection in understanding herself as well as her own place among those living, dead, and undead.

Josettes Ghostat her grave

There he is mourning her loss, over and over…

happy bride

And here she awakes to say, “Barnabas? It’s me.”

I felt it was both a moving and uplifting culmination of what was obvious. Didn’t think there was going to be so much hullabaloo over the damn thing. Then again, I didn’t expect it to heal my love-life either, so there ya go. Guess it’s a stronger romance than I anticipated! ❤


Ahhh… the Willie and Sarah scene. All the way back in November of 2013 during my first intro, “If anyone has some rustling in the leaves sound effects? I need some.” Nope. That bequest was never answered… Oh… thank the Lord. Found a bit… took a while, though, longer than my writing this. (I tend to go back in forth between the work and the blog typing, btw.)

Willie meets sarah again

Helena? I think I’d like to go over the text version of this with you. I remember you agreed the old draft was awkward, and it’s not like I’m going to make any major changes now that it’s altered and the audio performances are done, I dunno, I just feel like it. (You know me, I like to chat and workshop. 🙂 )

Now… the music I planned for this. I’m worried it might be too sweet and not quite fitting enough for that spooky element. Although, Heaven knows the tune I’ve picked tends to give a lot of people the creeps via where it comes from. The problem is it’s a music box version. Currently I’m playing with all the oddities in sound change and variance. Mmm, little discoveries of, “Oh, hey! That sounds better” and others of, “Wow! REALLY bad idea! Undo...” *chuckling* I believe bringing this in as quietly as humanly possible for the human ear to notice will be best.

All right. Banging your head against the brick wall enough here, Daryl. Don’t add the music or sound effects. I remember Willie Loomis had a ton of performed, then re-performed, lines and inflections I wasn’t sure about. I was shooting for easier-going Willie and was able to find some audio clips that sounded good to feel the swing of it. But there are variations and I have to pick the right ones. I think I have to do that with the Willie and Wadsworth scene a few cuts down the road here. And that one was less laid back and more with Willie revealing an internal struggle of understanding how he was treated by Professor Stokes during his calligraphy sessions. Of course, he was treated well, not something in Willie’s usual experience. More about that to come.

I think that wraps up my blog entry on where I am now. Happy to get more enthusiasm and discussion on the episodes. Just experiencing this journey on the path to recovery. Much praise, but again I’d like to hear more of that for the characters and less for myself. This is for them, not just me, and this is for sharing how that experience proceeds with each other. I keep hoping more listeners will understand that.

Peace.

4 thoughts on “Episode 15: Tech and Scenes

  1. doing good. but where’s the story.

    • morlock13 says:

      It’s incomplete. What audio that’s available is on podomatic, archive.org and iTunes and the text is at fanfiction dot net. I have two new listeners willing to make the commentary but they can only go so fast. Just need a stable five per ep. and we’re good to go. Thanks!

  2. Let me know when you want to go over the text version again. I remember the first draft, so I know what you’re talking about. Love the “Happy I’m back” picture of KLS’s Josette! 🙂

    • morlock13 says:

      Thank you! Man, I don’t know exactly what the deal is today but I have the jitters like crazy. It’s like I have stage fright from all the numbers having built up in the last year. Glad you dig the photo. It’s all cobweb spooky, but happy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

