Episode 15, One Scene A Day Now Becomes 2-3 Characters A Day…

6

WADSWORTH: Sir? I’ve made an effort to clean your staring window if you’d like to make use of it.


Thanks Wadsworth. I think the clarity is coming from your astute considerations. As aforesaid, in my 14th intro, I’m now doing many of the voices for this radio play separately. Today I listened intently to Jonathan Frid’s performance of Barnabas Collins. I found various inflections I might have missed. He did go through some trouble to bring those H’s in where A’s were applicable to the standard American speech and I also made a concerted effort not to lower my own voice. Jonathan Frid’s voice deserves higher tones of inflection and if it doesn’t sound male enough I can lower the pitch on sentences or various words. I felt good about that.

For Episode 15: A Blundering Succubus, Barnabas Collins had to swat away The Collinsport Fly (another breaking through the 4th wall which I haven’t done for a while), speak with his beloved Josette through Maggie Evans in Josette’s room, try to determine who Kitty Soames is or was, look with her out the window at Willie and Sarah interacting, take Maggie with him to Elizabeth’s family gathering at the Main House to discover she was going on an extended vacation and then meet with…

022b3d9e9d86ba27c944f7a23a9a59e4

Cousin Lily

Ah, her casual assertions about vampires certainly gave him the willies!

One of the reasons he even goes into that study where Maggie and Lily are having a chat is because of the coffee they are drinking. Elizabeth tempts him:

ELIZABETH: Cousin Barnabas…(pointedly) it’s Borgia.

BARNABAS: Who?

ELIZABETH: The coffee blend… it’s Borgia…

BARNABAS: (snorts) I see! You really wanted to get me in there, didn’t you?

ELIZABETH: Yes…


And? I have tried SO desperately to find out whether or not this might be accurate, either for Barnabas Collins OR Jonathan Frid. I remember there was a Q & A KLS was holding on a website years ago. I tried to ask, “What coffee was his favourite?” De nada! 😛

After that I called our Auntie. I think I’ll save that conversation for another blog post but it was good. She pretty much agreed with me about the laziness and troubles I’d been having. More complex than that, but worth a blog entry I think.

Hecubus can you hear me

I am now going through Sir Simon Milligan and Manservant Hecubus’ lines which I re-performed a few days ago. They seemed fine on the demo but I just felt like I should try it again. If anyone has updated themselves with these guys via youtube you might have noticed I posted appreciation to the lady who made it easier for me. (I believe in saying “thank you”. I do not simply like-click shit. lol!) Currently I’m going through those new lines and seeing which ones make the cut. I am leaving a little extra in via stuff I can’t decide on. So far Hecubus’ old lines are remaining here and there. Mostly it will be the new stuff that stays.

Also was on Skype with Cara Mia over the holiday weekend. I read her the new (actually old) scene with Morticia, Victoria and Grandmama Addams. This was excellent because I have a hard time with the Addams Family and need the help. I want to make sure all the characters are accurate. When I got to a line via Grandmama or Morticia I’d ask, “Does that sound like her or them?”

“Oh, yes! It does!” she would answer. *happy sigh*

Then I reached the end of the scene and said, “That’s it.”

“Oh!” she said, “Okay… hey, wow! That scene was really, incredibly good!”

Morticia and Victoria

Bless you, Cara Mia. Bless you. ❤

2 thoughts on “Episode 15, One Scene A Day Now Becomes 2-3 Characters A Day…

  1. LOL XD!!!! When I saw that picture of Barnabas staring through the window, and read Wadsworth’s line, I literally cracked up while staring at the Master Starer! Ha ha ha ha ha ha hah! You know I think that you do a good job already with Barnabas, but if you feel the need to improve, then do it with plenty of gusto (even when Barnabas lacks it) *snicker*

    • morlock13 says:

      Thank you! I do! This was going back to how I was discerning problems last Michaelmas. Sometimes that voice in Ep 11 is WAY too low for my own taste! But I still love the bonding in that between Wadsworth and Barnabas. Things are changing and he’s looking at hiring Wadsworth as the best thing he’s ever done in his life. LOL! Actually, the staring window was so many years ago! My husband and I would watch Dark Shadows and say, “Oh… AGAIN with the staring window, dude!”

Leave a Reply

