The Promise of What Praise Can Do: “Margaret Josette Dupres (A Novel)” [Note 7]

Having been through the abuse stream, as well as watching it occur, along with my studies in psychology and what William Faulkner describes as “the human heart in conflict with itself”, I saw what post-kidnapped Maggie Evans would be struggling with as a reincarnation of Josette. With Margaret Josette Dupres (A Novel) I still feel a re-working is in order for some parts of the book. Because The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows received so many numbers, (and still does) rather than the insight I needed to keep going, when I was taken over by the marriage novel, I felt Maggie got too much of the fast-track, when I meant to explore her difficulties more in the radio drama. However, when I completed my first draft I left the three Healing chapters until the end. I didn’t want to go there, but I knew for the sake of authenticity Barnabas and Maggie would have to endure this difficulty.

How Maggie could forgive the kidnapping could not take effect simply by looking at her lives as Josette Dupres and Kitty Soames, more would be necessary to get through the memories of the trauma. Over all she understands Barnabas’ madness but that inner child has needs and many relationships go through levels of stress. Acting-out, whether in forms of fantasy or reality, is what many couples require to express both pleasure and pain.

Maggie Evans was not the sole person to experience that kidnapping. So who does she turn to? The man who changed from cocky to empathetic due to being trapped by this circumstance.

Willie scared

Willie Loomis

Chapter 12 “Willie’s Wounds” originally was something I was putting together to reflect on a unique experience Willie had after being shot in the back and going both to the hospital and to Wyndcliff. As this novel was being re-written it became an integral addition to the story as a whole rather than the bedroom vignettes it began as. Rather than this tale being told for no particular purpose in mind, Maggie ascends the stairs to Willie’s room at the end of Chapter 11. In Chapter 12 Maggie is now asking for help to determine what her feelings are and how the experience affected Willie Loomis. After so much time he was wondering how on earth her inner struggles being married to her kidnapper didn’t surface before.

“Yes,” she says to him, “tell me anything about it. I just need to think about you’re being in the hospital and at Wyndcliff and why you were there.”

Willie Loomis then goes on to detail his experience, the main one being someone showing him kindness in a way that was difficult for him to understand where he was and how it was happening. In Dark Shadows they placed Willie Loomis on his back after he was shot there! What the heck??? (Actually, Mad Margaret and I have discussed several times how nerve-wracking that was to witness. She seemed rather grateful I rectified that situation in my work. Additives as such make one feel better.) So in Chapter 12 he relates to being laid on his stomach instead.

Link To Chapter 12: Willie’s Wounds


mad margaret chapter 12
     I was very interested in reading this chapter because of the subject matter. My story is going in a similar direction. Similar but very different. I liked the way you approached the fill-the-gap theme. It’s really nice that Willie and Maggie both have someone they can confide in. Thank you for pointing out that in the hospital he would have been on his stomach, not his back like on TV. It was very realistic the way his mind wandered in and out of reality because of the pain meds and maybe some memories faded with time. Sounds like we may get to meet Miss Kiss. And now Maggie wants shackles and a bucket of ice? Oh geez, can’t wait to see where that’s going to go.

Yes, thank you! (And I’m still wondering if the later chapters were read and what the thoughts are, though that is a much harsher subject matter, of course.) I love the description “Miss Kiss”. Bringing out peripheral characters is tough. With this one it’s still rather difficult. I have to finally stamp down a first name eventually as they didn’t give the nurse one on the program.

katie chapter 12
I’ve always felt that Willie was a “go along to get along” guy in Jason’s world, just trying to survive. I think that it took his encounter with Barnabas to bring out the real Willie Loomis. A sweet, unassuming man, ready to sacrifice himself for those he deemed worthy. There is a lot in Willie that needs to be expressed, but I’m pretty sure that his upbringing never provided him with those skills. Willie is my most loved member of this dear, dysfunctional family and you have begun fine work in helping Willie and Maggie find their way back to living in peace. I hope that the three of them get their happily ever after, when the healing is complete.

Another fine bit of writing.

Indeed. I felt the same way. It was like Willie was rough and tumble, kind of scuzzy as he’d been exposed to that much of his life. I heartily appreciate this discussion on the work. I remember getting so much silence and writhing, “My God! Doesn’t anyone even care about Willie?!” But being under the power of Evil Barnabas, having to come to terms with this totally unfathomable situation Willie can’t control, his better nature grows out, and then more friendships form for him. Thank you, Katie!

myhrr chapter 12
A bucket of ice? Whatever for?

Your writings remind me of what I think. Very liberated nathaniel hawthorne would have written if he had lived in the 19th century. Very dark, yet very soothing. A snippet of a whip infused with a tender spring of babys breath. Thoroughly enjoyed this chapter!

Yes, a bucket of ice. Whoah! Nathaniel Hawthorne. Amazing. That is one author I have the worst time following and I put that down more to the time period than his style. It’s groovy to be compared to an author who is that high in caliber. Blessings for that.

Helena Clara Bouchet chapter 12
I hope Maggie will find the nurse and bring her up to Collinwood for Maggie. At first I thought he was fantasizing due to the meds, but he saw her shadow. Hmmm.

And I am SO ready for the ice and the chains session! Great chapter for Willie and ready for that next chapter 😉

Ever the helpful Helena, oh and she lets us know what’s coming up. Goodness! I know. I got the feeling, as said in my first podcast intro, that Barnabas seemed to have this S&M thing going on. Never thought I’d have to go through it! AH! (And Helena had read previous drafts so she was aware of what was coming up.) I must wonder why Barnabas turns on so many people. I tap into the complexity as well as the deep romantic nature. I leave dreams of sleeping with him up for others to enjoy. My own healing comes from seeing all the romances finally reaching each other. Watching the love that could be, and for me is, in the work.

Veritas chapter 12
I’ve always liked Willie, even when Barnabas had him doing all the henchman stuff, but now I love him. He seems like he’d be such a sweet guy if he wanted to, and I can’t wait to meet the mystery woman!

Uh oh, Barnabas better be prepared! He told her to get angry and take it out on him, I just hope he realizes how bad its gonna be!

Keep going! I’m loving every minute of it, even the not-so-happy parts.

Yay! Yes, even our poor mystery-woman was getting the fast-track for this story. All in all everyone’s curiousity and interest in what was going to happen next? That seriously helped me! Having to go through the horror all over again was painful, I knew it was going to be and in performing it, mostly in mind, but partly in body, I actually created physical pain for myself that weekend. My husband was quite worried. So thank you all for the enthusiasm! ❤


10659261_1459676970969307_2793389646950023177_n

With Chapter 12 Maggie gains the sense of revenge she requires by Chapters 13-15. In order to relieve herself and Barnabas she finds a way to bind him in her bedroom, and present a series of tortures to him, which he had been on the point of almost requesting in earlier chapters. His own turmoil having turned him into the mad creature he was, Barnabas understands a cruel type of behaviour has to be released and his love for her is dear enough he wants to give himself into it for her sake.

Link To Chapter 13, Healing: Part 1 Shackled

Helena Clara Bouchet chapter 13
Okay, let me get my amusement out of the way first: LOL! Make sure the door’s locked, Josette, or Willie may be traumatized by looking at Barnabas’ in all of his chained and iced-down glory. 😀

Now to get serious: the tables had turned for Barnabas. His punishment for what he did to Maggie (and she was scary in this chapter) was being delivered. Oh the fear he must be feeling, but he does it for her healing, which she deserves. But I wonder what does the little boy in him fear? Is it the unknown or something concrete? Recollections of being punished by his father and not knowing how? I wonder if the next chapter will answer that…

You put together the atmosphere well, Daryl. Looking forward to the conclusion 😉

Ah, yes. The only person to review this chapter. With the numbers I got I think many were hungrily enticed by Barnabas getting some S&M from his beloved. However, at least Helena wasn’t too embarrassed to admit it. I realized in all of this it was very likely Barnabas would want to be sure that door was locked. A little mercy on Maggie’s end. Maggie refers to him as a little boy fairly often to me when I channel her. Having that power over him as Josette she can see more sides to his nature than most. We all have in us that inner child we carry from our earliest days.

Link To Chapter 14, Healing: Part 2, Punishment

The wee hours proceed with Maggie torturing Barnabas, with ice, with resounding slaps, taunts, teases, biting words, and sitting in front of the warm fire while he lies in bed freezing. The discussion is also telling in that he admits his memory during the kidnapping was only remembering her, not Angelique, not all that had happened, just Josette, and their being taken from each other. Only one review, but then again I didn’t post this too far or with a photo as I felt so ill about the whole thing at the time.

Helena Clara Bouchet chapter 14
That was a little intense, but way more for Barnabas as the subject of torture. It was funny that he tried to cheat Maggie out of her revenge by attempting to warm himself, but I loved it when she read his thoughts and said, “Don’t even think about it.” Exactly. If Maggie wasn’t relieved of her sufferings, then why should he? Well done here, Daryl! 😉

Thank you. It was good to have this reflection! I’m not sure he was trying to cheat her but coming up with some thought in his mind that could sustain him through the torture, but all in all this is true and he knew it was true, they both did.

Like To Chapter 15, Healing: Part 3, Redemption

Helena Clara Bouchet chapter 15
Wow! That was some heavy, emotional stuff going on in there. I hope Maggie/ Josette had got over the hardest part of her recovery from her past trauma. And although the physical discomforts/ pain were cringe-worthy, the thing that broke Barnabas down was hearing that he caused shame to her. I think that he REALLY got the message of her pain at that moment. Great chapter! 🙂

Thank you again. I was really surprised at the outcome and not only that but I found Maggie torturing Barnabas even more than in the previous draft. That was where my physical pain came in. I had to burn up as her and choke myself as Barnabas to get a feeling of what that would be like or what it had been like in my experiences with abuse. It was like a blow to the heart when she snarled at him so viciously, and it makes sense as he would be ashamed of having turned into something so different than when he wasn’t cursed. Plus the drinking was a new element as well. Previously they had a certain sexual gratification from that, now it’s become painful, it’s part of her revenge.

katie chapter 15 
I like the ‘all bets are off’ approach you took with this. After what these two had endured, a simple trip to Wyndcliff wasn’t likely to heal the pain. If any two people were ever candidates for PTSD, it would be Maggie and Barnabas.

Very intense, and in parts, very difficult to read because of the great emotion and anger, but a happy story too. Maybe now these lovers can get on with having the happy life they deserve.

I am sooooo grateful for this review, Katie. I truly am. It was decidedly difficult to endure with them. With fans who are strangely offended at this pairing I see teasing take place that it’s a fairy tale wedding and this hard work into making it accurate and valid proves that it’s nothing of the sort. When I studied regression therapy I saw that the only way Maggie could remember being Josette for sure was to unblock the kidnapping and all of a sudden she has so much information to process. Plus I didn’t expect her reaction at the end. I thought she would have her way with him and that would be it, but when those tears came I was completely stunned.


Still working on Episode 15 of the radio drama. Lots of augmenting for it’s own authenticity, even with the uncertainty it will ever be uploaded, but press on we must.

I look forward to better changes in the future from listeners of the radio series, but after over a year of surging hopes only to be defeated I can’t afford to hope for it anymore. Just keep going and see what happens.

There will be more happiness and turmoil for this marriage as well as how their friends and relations view it. Very much looking forward to Sam Evans entry in first person, but we have a lot of love and affection to explore before that.

Many blessings and take care,

Daryl

oh god

2 thoughts on “The Promise of What Praise Can Do: “Margaret Josette Dupres (A Novel)” [Note 7]

  1. Love the last picture! And I was totally fascinated by the Healing chapters. Not just because of the S&M (;)), but because Maggie/Josette did not overlook Barnabas’ transgressions as the once evil and malicious kidnapper. She needed to be avenged.

    • morlock13 says:

      Merci! I’m glad of that. I was looking forward to going over the details here to show how extensive the research was. It’s a damn good show with some top-notch writing! It deserves so much more. It’s too bad people give so little credit to some of the harder work out there, at least to our knowledge. (They could be saying Heaven knows what behind their phone-screens.) Wow! You liked the picture? Great to hear!

      It’ll be good to go through some more of the erotic elements after this. I think what I find rewarding is discovering those who are in it for the darkness turning from horror to beauty. And that need for vengeance or acting-out through hurt… well, *ahem* I’ll leave further details on my experience with that in personal messages. 😉

Leave a Reply

