The Promise of What Praise Can Do: “Margaret Josette Dupres (A Novel)” [Note 6]

Yes. I am very tired of editing Episode 14 in The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows. So I thought I’d focus on this again just to make due with all the program crashes and interruptions, as well as weaning myself from facebook minus twice a week. I’d like to confess that I have several more chapters planned for “Margaret Josette Dupres” as well as re-starting “200 Years Away” which is the T-rated version. I’m leaving the old one up because it just got too messy switching things out and when I restart it I want to get a note on it to inform followers when the re-write is going to happen.

One thing I have learned in all this is it’s a nice compliment to get a follow/favourite on a story. You at least have some recognition that someone cares about it enough not to want to miss anything. I do blame device tech for much of the troubles in lack of commentary and the lack of letter-writing ability. I figure if someone can read and speak they have the wherewithal to type down their reflections on material they enjoyed. People blame ADHD, but I see this more as the distract-ability the internet has enmeshed us in. A pen pal tells me even people sending her mail have reduced their skills to things less worthy than greeting cards. OUCH!

Our lives have been simplified by correspondence in bits & bytes. No wonder I’m making so many people angry. For ten years they’ve been trained not to think. Oops. Sorry, I thought that was what the cerebral cortex was for and why we have it to invent all this stuff. Hey, if you can’t hook up a bluetooth keyboard to your device, you could get some time at the library. One of my best supporters did that. 🙂 Especially Chapter 5 of “Margaret Josette Dupres”. Maggie hits on some serious wisdom there and all back in the 1960s.

Chapter 9 of this story is another bedroom scene, but it contains the more vampiric aspect of the relationship. One person who didn’t review said it was one of her favourites, for the darkness and the consideration Barnabas starts to recognize in who Maggie is now considering her memories of previous lifetimes. He also knows that sooner or later her reaction to his harm on her will need to come out, and need to be engaged upon him. Considering how woe-be-gone this man of romance is, he’s looking toward the inevitable. Becoming such a horror himself he feels the need to prove his merit to the one woman he crossed centuries to find again and again.

Yes, I know. In Dark Shadows, this couple was doomed. But… what if they weren’t? Some of us who remain nameless were quite relieved at the goofy 2012 movie’s ending. We didn’t know each other then but a few of us do now and we all walked out of the theater completely stunned! They made it! Barnabas & Josette reached each other! And they’re vampires!

2012 barnabas and josette

All right! Pour some champagne! 

Mind you, this wasn’t why they became vampires for my series. The Wedding Night just threw itself at me in that light. It took a while to sort out why they were, but then I realized, “Wait, we’ve got these lovers reaching each other through her THREE incarnations. It’s a spooky community, and hey cousin Lily (Munster) wanders around in the day. That could be a wedding present. Got it!”

Which I guess presents one of the latest generation gaps. Old Dark Shadows fans prefer everyone winding up totally domestic whereas us younger fans grew up with The Lost Boys, Beetlejuice, Love At First Bite, Roger Corman’s “The Raven“, Harry Potter, The Addams Family films, trippy mangas and comics where all this just gets dealt with and most of the time using a sense of humour. A Collinsport working out but remaining spooky isn’t that far of a stretch.

Then weird haters who I think are younger fans… I dunno. They seem really offended by a relief series for Dark Shadows. I have to shake my head. I get called out in announcements, where I’m not likely to read any of it, that I should just “enjoy the ride”. Do they say this to all fanwork creators? What are they so worried about? No one is making them read or listen to it. (I’ve just been ticked-off bizarre behaviour like that scared so many people who love the characters into silence. Haters might at least pat themselves on the back for being that cruel. That’s a rather grievous accomplishment. Could take a little pride in the harm they already achieved. Want some more horror? Pick up a newspaper. It’s all in there.)


Now on to the positive!

Helena, chapter 9 

This was erotic (although I was having nauseous moments with the blood) and a pleasure to read. You know, it would be interesting to know of Laura and Roger’s “fiery” relationship. I bet that would be kind of epic with a bowl of popcorn and eyes glued to the pages. lol And with the 3 or 4 of them (B/ M (J/KF) in bed, it WAS a Collinwood orgy although 2 of them were dormant (or were they?).

Ah, yes, that is the point that he’s finding even more alluring. All those beings are in one. Depending on how much time Barnabas spends in the varying time periods, his bride is older in terms of at least 60 years of memories.

myhrr chapter 9 .
Well you have done it again my friend. Regaling the reader with the most intimate of details captured within a 200 year old love affair.

Yay! Thank you!

Which leads us to Chapter 10:  “Prior Disturbances Come to Haunt”

10830654_10153124606944381_6462601487121926252_o

This is dealing with the kidnapping. 😦

Not a whole lot of data on that as it doesn’t keep to the happily ever after content seen earlier. I knew to make it authentic I would have to channel even further, and it was rough! Barnabas is coming to terms with the knowledge more suffering is coming. Maggie, even as Josette, is not going to magically forget the kidnapping. So with this chapter his friend Julia Hoffman has to come and spend some time going over the details with him. He lightens the conversation with inquiries about Professor Stokes proposal to her, but Julia won’t be distracted.

Helena, chapter 10 
I liked this chapter and Julia :). Ah, congrats to her and Eliot! While I do share her concern, I do agree that Maggie needs to deliver some pay back for her ordeal in captivity (which I mentioned before in your previous uploads). Looking forward to what happens next 😉

Yes, I wasn’t sure where their marriage would happen in the radio drama so I kept things somewhat vague. I’m glad you were aware of the craziness I was going through. Some of those old drafts were downright demonic and weird. I just didn’t have anyone to turn to in what was happening to me.

myhrr chapter 10 
As ever you leave the reader thirsting for more…so to speak!

Thank you! I was surprised how much longer the healing process was going to go on. I’d experienced the Healing chapters before but as “Margaret Josette Dupres” was unfolding more of a story than the romance vignettes it began as, I found unique occurrences I hadn’t seen before. And my being able to was created by the fact people were reading and reviewing the work. ^_^  The previous run was very sparse. I really felt all alone most of the time in it.

the kidnapping

Chapter 11: “A Tender Retreat” shows Maggie contemplating all the horrors, and how to rise from them. She speaks in first person, whereas for Chapter 10 Barnabas was speaking. She recalls being Josette, but she also recalls the terror he gave her during her current life. He was driven mad, but it doesn’t change the fact it happened. So our couple face a very sad loneliness, not spending much time together minus in the hours of their slumber. They both realize this has to be faced and maintain some distance while Maggie works herself through it.

myhrr chapter 11 
So poignant and beautifully written. I felt her anguish fear and dread. As well as Barnabas’ longing to quell the fear that he is still the monster that locked her in the coffin!

Yes! Thank you! Very insightful to read this commentary and that chapter was tough to get out, really. Doing a relief series one doesn’t want to go down this road, but being a study of psychology, one knows it has to come.

Veritas, chapter 11 
Loved it! I don’t like sad MJD though…makes me sad. I think her talking to Willie is a brilliant idea, she’s sort of seeking out a kindred spirit in him, knowing that they’ve both suffered some sort of abuse from our at-times deranged vampire. And poor Barnabas, knowing he’s the reason for her sadness has to be soul crushing.

Aye! Just all this hurt, but the comments on experiencing that with the one putting it out there is incredibly helpful. I realized Willie Loomis would be the confidant she would seek, which was wild because I’d written the following chapter about his Wyndcliff experience a very long time before this one leading up to it!

Helena, chapter 11 
And I agree that she wouldn’t (Too bad the show had Vampire Angelique to erase her memory when Maggie did remember the kidnapping. Ah, YouTube…). I felt Maggie’s hurt and anger, which you expressed well, Daryl. Waiting for chapter 12 😉

Indeed. There actually is a lot of things to sift through when doing Interruption fanwork. If one interrupts Dark Shadows what stays and what goes? For The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows we have Maggie going through regression right AS Angelique awakens as a vampire. I felt it was very fitting considering Josette and Angelique were friends. They’re both going through a major change simultaneously. Didn’t really plan it, but when it happened I was floored. And I must chuckle at the youtube mention, where many of us poorer fans must go to retrieve data.

I give my hearty thanks to these reviews. Ones for the radio drama coming so slowly and sporadically it’s hard to move faster with the series, but this tended to have enough to push me forward and share more.

Not much for The “Healing” chapters but a good show for “Willie’s Wounds” so I think my next note will comprise those four chapters and their reviews. Helena made it through all the suspense with me of each Healing chapter. Which I’m very grateful for as it was tough. I didn’t even want to post the 2nd part with a photo. It was just too dark and painful. I’ll post more about that later.

Meanwhile, I have to edit in music for poor Willie’s confrontation with Barnabas in The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows. I guess over all things are rather gloomy today. Even the sky is overcast which I normally prefer, but today it lends to the slight feeling of sorrow in such a tale.

Take care, everyone.

2 thoughts on “The Promise of What Praise Can Do: “Margaret Josette Dupres (A Novel)” [Note 6]

  1. I know how you feel about getting a like and/or a follow. I liked Love At First Bite, especially between Count Dracula and his love interest. I kept rewinding that scene and reveling in the music and their dance routine. Neat!

    • morlock13 says:

      Yeah! Whoah… Now I’m all wondering if there is “Love at First Bite” fanfiction… Hmm, surprisingly not! (Not that I could find just now, anyway. I suppose that film totally stands alone.) I know I saw the dance routine with two different songs depending on if you got the DVD or the old television aired version.

      Although I did once post to facebook a photo from “Love At First Bite” with the line from Vladimir, “No, with you… never a quickee… always a longee.” lol! Got some good responses.

Leave a Reply

