Words to a fellow DS creator… the extent of creativity…

Revealed is a wonderful expression of all that we’ve been going through in this odd world… a missive to another hard working entertainer:


I’m intrigued….My being in the realm of humour… well… the stand-ups get on stage for the reaction. Gettin’ numbers and like-clicks is the equivalent of having a grandparent pat you on the head for a crayon drawing or the equivalent of… ONE CLAP!

Especially droppin’ off links to major works in audio, one of which took over a month! “Oooo, a like-click. I feel SO ACCOMPLISHED!

282-dark-shadows-header-maggie-julia

All that crying and screaming I performed really touched ya, eh?”

With Archive of Our Own, yeah. It could be better but the people running it certainly don’t care much to take advice from the users even if they have, I dunno, donated money to the bloody site? 😛 I notice that another beloved writer looks like she gave up on it.

bills hearts

Hint, hint…

Most of my comments for The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows at A03 was my husband at work trying to get the conversation going since people forgot how to fricken type responses ten years ago when they went from computers to device tech. *raspberry*

And what’s irritating is with Archive of Our Own you can copy and paste favourite lines to your comments, whereas on fanfiction dot net you can’t. Someone commenting would have to type out bits. Then one dame I asked for help had the gall to review my writing style techniques. It’s like, “Lady, I asked you to tell me what’s FUNNY! You know? Like, Ha ha! This made me laugh?”

Whoops! For whatever reason we like our entertainment vested in human resources while showing we have almost no humanity left in us.

As if so happens, I weird others out by just wanting my people and the discussion while I get downloads for the radio drama episodes and podcasts every single day. And I only have 13 episodes with extras. On top of that I had that damn book editor, Madam Angelique troll, having 7 months of a cow because she couldn’t control my work or me, nor make money off of it, then that film-director trying to order me around.

What kind of a film-director, who is outdoors for his own work, is so agoraphobic to insist I not make tactile advertising??? Just stay online only? Meanwhile people are laughing their asses off at my work and telling me, “You have to do it for you.” or “Sounds like you’re having fun!” Yeah, um, you’re welcome?

money money moneybrit cash

canadian-money

Three years and four thousand dollars later… ?

Graham_Chapman_Portrait

Take your negativity and shove it!

Not to mention the Julia/Barnabas absolutists are RIDICULOUS. I was looking for people who wanted the pairing I uncorked for Barnabas because, from what I could see,

maggie pinstripe

Maggie is…

kitty hampshire

and, ugh, Kitty too, *rolls eyes*

Untitled

a reincarnation of Josette


She and Barnabas wanted each other like crazy. If someone doesn’t like or approve of that? The rest of the people I found who do like it couldn’t care less if others don’t.

But the Julia fanatics? THEY are the ones shoving that idea down everyone else’s throat. I can not tell you how many people have approached me and confessed that they have been harassed by Julia fans, to this day, trying to convert them or win them over. Seriously, what does that say about these women?

tori-amos

(A visual aid in answer to that last question.)

To me; it’s just so weird. Quite a few people want “Margaret Josette Dupres”. They’d been waiting decades for it… but… it’s… erotica. They praise it but don’t always give much in the way of book-club insight. Whereas the radio drama goes EVERYWHERE with all of those fandoms and I’ve had to yank out the discussion from people about it. Still, for the most part, fans of the pairing are continuously discussing the angst they’ve been under for how they’ve been mistreated, when to me (AND a number of Addams Family lovers) the pairing was just plain obvious. That’s why I lash out in inebriation and isolation. I’m like,

Groucho

“Oh… stealing my laughs from me by scaring all these people?”

“I got some Groucho Marx for ya, right here!” lol


Julia sympathizers are chill, usually. They like the Prof. Stokes idea. I was asking one of them which line I should edit for episode 14 (still in production) because I noticed one of the things I did in his lines sounded sexy, and another version was more a statement, “You seem rather fulfilled, Julia.” Of course one Julia sympathizer said, “Yes! Use the sexy one for Stokes!” And so far it’s been the people who are in theater who have a better understanding of all of this. Whereas many DS fans write fanfiction, LOVE Julia, and invalidate everything else. Hmm… here is this iTunes link for my work.

iTunes link for The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows

Do y’all know what audio is??? Whoops! That would be admitting it isn’t text. They already invalidate who Barnabas reciprocates, might as well call audio work simply text to top all that off. In my intro to Episode 13 I finally asked everyone,

oscar the grouch

“Why do you all want this Barnabas guy if you think he’s a piece of garbage?” lol


Whereas Victoria, Maggie and Josette fans do love Barnabas a lot; flaws and all. It would be nice to stretch my audio work and reach more Hoffman/Stokes, Willie/Nurse Jackson, or even more Tony/Carolyn, but boy! This Barnabas issue seriously stalls my radio drama! What a mess!

And I’m sure I’ve made LOTS of Julia or Angelique fans grind their teeth when they find out this whole thing healed 8 years of frigidity and my marriage.

No, I actually do NOT beat off to this work. 🙂  In all my woes, I have a happy marriage with a partner. Betch’ya NONE of those people wrote stories that helped them like that. (But… one never knows…) And…? I never INTENDED to do the damn thing! lol

B&Jo

That’s what tapping into Barnabas/Josette can do.

a17

No wonder the Gomez/Morticia types get-it.


I know about one needing a thesaurus. When I channel Barnabas? Damn, that old man is PICKY! Pushes me to get every fricken word as he would say it. But repetitive word usage reminds one of The Book of Mormon.

check it joe

They could make, “And it came to pass” into a drinking game.


I’m glad to hear of others working in other fandoms. I notice people who do DS work but also work in other fandoms are better grounded to the characters. Really ticks off the old DS rules. “You’re just supposed to tack on the names of the characters and do whatever you want.”

star trek old

P’shh! Try doing that in Star Trek

TwinPeaks_openingshotcredits

or Twin Peaks…


Ya ain’t gonna get very far! And other writers know what I mean. They have to deal with, “Huh? You’re not supposed to use historical accuracy, get the characters right, or do any happy endings in Dark Shadows.”

Oh, yeah? Watch us! 🙂


Oh, good LORD! If you’ve heard GOOD things about my audio work, PLEASE let me know what you can! People barely tell me jack-shit! It’s like I need a fricken agent or something! lol (And I do have plans for about 170 eps, maybe. I just want the feedback for fuel to get it all done and over with.) I must have about 500-1,000 listeners
by now.


lookin’ for the lonely,

Daryl

2 thoughts on “Words to a fellow DS creator… the extent of creativity…

  1. Ann says:

    So speaks the biggest bully on the internet when it comes to someone trying to force their opinion on others. Don’t care if you think the Angelique trolls and the Julia lovers are the scourge of the fandom. How many Facebook groups have you been ejected from, Pot meet Kettle?

    • morlock13 says:

      Hi Ann,

      I get the impression the comprehension skills on this thing are rather low. How would you feel if you did the hardest work of your life, spent all of your savings, got little response, and found out WHY it all happened was because people were scared to speak out due to other fandom bullying?

      I’m doing a relief series, I’m using the internet to reach people, and I’m trying to JUST find fans of it to eventually get to the point of us keeping it all to ourselves. And get the project done.

      I know of ONE facebook group I’ve been ejected from… the “Official” group which is actually NOT official nor endorsed by
      anyone from the program.

      There are Julia lovers. *I* am one of them. Then there are Julia EXTREMISTS. Then there are crazy meanies who troll me. Hmm, that’s not stressful, is it? Or a film-director trying to boss you around? People could just ignore me and carry on, but no, one must skim my work and put all one’s focus on a few things.

      If it sounds like I am bully to you, what’s coming out is some venting on the lack of communication and discussion that
      was very prevalent only ten years ago. People who do humour do it to get the fun responses to the jokes. When people
      who do that don’t get it, well, I’d say research some Groucho Marx and find out what he would do when that happened.

      I’d say, “Thanks for reading my blog”. But like various others who’ve put down random commentary… I don’t think you really read it.

      Cheers,

      Daryl

      P.S. If you don’t care what I think, why did you comment on it?

Leave a Reply

