Episode 13… Test listening and re-editing…

cd insert 1

Yes, John Morris did the soundtrack for Clue. As I listened and remembered another soundtrack he’d done the spookier elements made sense. There is definitely that same air of haunting at times as “The Elephant Man”, but of course with humour involved, Clue has some wackier elements and of course those wackier elements are what I’m shooting for in this episode of The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows. Today and yesterday I needed to lower the volume on it because of dialogue.

Caleb Collins’ change in voice I think I’ve managed as well as I can. He and Elizabeth get their own Dark Shadows background music for a while. I had to lower that a notch as well. I like that because it brings Caleb more into being a Collins, a ghost he might have been on the original program. The scene between Morticia and Victoria is more or less the same. I’ll have to drown myself in more Addams Family. I had no idea how helpful they would be and that includes the fans. (I posted Episode 6 and got a thank you! Imagine that. ^_^ )

It’s been a very weird imbalance on facebook. When I heard my second episode on the radio I decided it was time to let everyone know I finally got to a station for sure and certain. Many of the others haven’t contacted me to say they played the CDs or anything. I still have a few people who respond to other things in other posts as if in denial it’s in audio or I have more than one pairing. What weirds me out is how high the download numbers are. One would think there are listeners who want to discuss the program with me. As for folks who do? Time seems to be the problem on one angle, but then my show is lengthy, how do they have time for that?

However there is a fan of Angelique/Barnabas who has been splendidly marvelous. She contacted me because she needed helping getting into group pages. At last! Daryl can come to someone’s aid! My banner likely got her attention. She did share some photos of Angelique/Barnabas and we had an odd discussion which turned out very well indeed. She was happy to say, “I know. She did all those rotten things. But I’m a hopeless romantic.” And I smiled at her and said, “I like honesty!” Then she saw me getting another nasty troll… well… more like a stupid one. She let me know she was currently reading Mad Margaret’s material and then said after that she was looking forward to listening to mine. Man! This chik is with it! And she was saying good job to my posts about being invalidated to solely writing and solely doing a single pairing with this photo of John Cleese as Basil Fawlty:

basil

My name… is Daryl Wor… I produce, almost solely, the radio drama: The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows. How weird is it that I can figure out all of this crap? Going through multiple romantic pairings, Tony and Carolyn being my first, and then moving on to Barnabas and a reincarnation of Josette? That’s just great. And then I come to facebook and 90% of the people treat me like, Barnabas/Josette is ALL of what I am about? THANKS A LOT! Thank you so much for invalidating that I’m doing this in audio, thank you SO MUCH for invalidating that I’m incorporating EVERYONE! Thank you so much that you have simplified me into a work of Barnabas/Josette SOLELY! Thank you! As Basil Fawlty says, “Thank you, GOD! Thank you SO BLOODY MUCH!”

She liked that and my link to iTunes for my show saying, “Good one Daryl! I love Basil Fawlty! And Monty Python of course…”

Then it became a pseudo fun stream of Monty Python oddities.

So meanwhile I’m getting talked to by two others about The Way Fanfiction Works… P’shaw! Let me know when someone does more than a single fandom, and also at once? Actually, I have seen a few and I had to give them some appreciation for looking like they were going as crazy as me and that was them merely writing it! Plus it’s like, with the single fandom folks, I know there are plenty of people who don’t do it looking for responses or insight into the stories, but a great number of us are. In fact a lot of the work online that we do we’re hoping to find those kindred spirits. I think that’s why the folks outside of fanfiction enjoy my work so much when I rarely hear from them. It’s like they listen and say, “Wow… if you had the original voices instead of having to perform them yourself, which you already do a good job of, this WOULD be the real thing!”

One chap who’s been distributing my postcards for me got his package of CDs and wants to talk on the phone someday soon. (Not soon enough for me!) But he said these delightful things: “Your audio DS show is GREAT! So funny! You have a great radio voice! What’s funny is seeing the images of the characters in my mind as I’m hearing your voice. It would be fun to have you do actual DS shows and mute out the real voices and then substitute your impersonations. Your Roger kills me.”

Roger at his desk

Excellent! Sometimes my Roger kills me too!

And that is definitely a character I saw little of when combing through the DS fanfiction. It would make sense if people are taking it so seriously. Roger Collins acerbic charm is something that often breaks the ice on the program, and it doesn’t seem like the DS fanfiction writers of old and new, well, many likely aren’t able to tap into where Roger fits in at all. For me presenting him with things, or him presenting me with material as the case goes, is as I’ve discovered doing his voice: It’s like riding a bicycle. I just do it. (But I make a point of listening to him more to see how much better I can make it.)

Ooooo… okay… I’m not sure that last sound effect at the end is exactly right… but I gotta say… as the closing song bleeds in I’m getting the chills. Not sure about a few other points in the climactic scene and I need to add a couple small things…

Can I say That’s A Wrap without it literally being a wrap?

Peace.

Leave a Reply

