One Scene A Day, Ep. 13: Uncle Fester, Victoria Winters, Morticia, and Grandmama

Like many in my age range, I love The Addams Family films from the 1990’s. However, doing a multi-fandom series of the 1960s I knew I had to go with our earlier incarnation of The Addams Family. Not too much of a problem as my brother adored it so I was exposed to that first. But still, imagine, if you will, lines exchanged between these two:

Victoria looking right uncle fester

LOL! Okay, just lining those photos side by side as I put this blog post together? That alone is a crack up! This is why I plan to leave the parenthetical announcement in this audio of: “VICTORIA: (uncertain whether to chuckle or scream)”

A lovely Cara Mia I found got the mp3 of the scene weeks ago and said she howled with laughter over this encounter. (Good things come to those who communicate.) She also let me know that Morticia should be a wee bit closer to what I know of Joan Bennett’s Elizabeth Stoddard as far as vowels go. Thing is I really don’t want to re-do even more lines since my plate is so filled. I simply lowered the pitch, but I intend to keep The Addams Family in our beloved Pit for years to come. So I can get a better Carolyn Jones as Morticia down in further episodes. At first that trip Peter and Victoria took to their house was meant to result in another farce of, “Okay, Twin Peaks, AH! The Bates Motel, AH!… they’ll run away screaming from this house, too!” But then, I listened. No. The Addams Family are wholesome in a bizarre way, and they care about people and help them.

Mind you, this entire scene in audio was performed a year ago. That’s how long I’ve been struggling to get good copies of this thing put down. The recorder I was using to make audio copies for a lark had broken and I decided to go with the real deal on the headset by this point. Then I discovered how much better I could make it. Listening to the demos was providing even better revisions and extensions. I just knew if I was this entertained and entertained repeatedly, I had to have something good. The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows is not disposable. It’s as repeatably listenable as all the other shows have been for decades. Believe it or not the younger of us know this. They don’t like the new stuff coming out, they like these shows.

The chunk of this encounter is still up in text right now. I felt it was an important scene that describes in what manner everything is all working out and why the other spooky shows understand how to relieve Collinsport of all it’s tragedy. The Addams Family, especially, are very accepting of many things not normally in their own realms, however much what might be “normal” to us is not normal to them. Morticia Addams hit the nail on the head in ways I never expected she would, and explains to Victoria why Collinsport has the troubles it does and why in their own house they don’t have those problems. And, of course, I couldn’t resist… One of Victoria Winters responses to Morticia Addams is: “I don’t understand.” *wink* But don’t worry, she goes on to request more information after this.

Then Morticia Addams tells Victoria to stop worrying about what she might have done for others by saying: “Well! Again with that face, Victoria? Didn’t you already make a few changes? I think your arrival there opened the people up somewhat. But the world is a big place. Resting it on your shoulders isn’t wise, you know.” 

It’s at times like this I feel the characters are speaking to me. No doubt, I’ve taken on quite a task to incorporate so many other shows into Dark Shadows and with a larger purpose of complexity in the good we all have to offer each other, which has been so ignored in much of what we do online these days. More often than not, it’s the negative people who speak out. The positive people are either too busy keeping their heads above water or trying to help others in ways we rarely see online.

VictoriaWintersDarkShadowslovely look

But what of the scene? Well, there is some information Morticia finds out about Victoria and what she had done in Collinsport. Did she see even more of that place than she let on? Perhaps… it’s history?

Victoria Winters is still acclimating to how “weird” this family is. She’s not sure if discussing her trip to 1795 is going to sit well with them. From Morticia’s reaction, Victoria is sure she’ll be thought of as a nut-case, even by this inclusive lady of the house. Morticia becomes terribly excited. Is she responding in belief or disbelief?

Morticia cries out to Grandmama, who knows all about such supernatural goings on. I did comb for Grandmama speaking in The Addams Family and couldn’t find a clip, so I shot for Carol Kane’s impression from the films. My Addams Family helper said it sounded fine. I also combed out the back history of Grandmama… In so many words she is a Witch who does not like the term “Witch”.

I reported to my husband what Morticia’s reaction was in this scenario, last year, before I set it down.

“Grandmama! We need you! It’s Victoria!… She has the gift!”

Daryl’s Husband’s eyes widened as he sat there listening to my explanation… then he pointed and yelled,

“DO IT! DO IT!” ^_^

cropped-new-logo-5.jpg

Whisper In Rage

Leave a Reply

