Editing Scenes In Audio, Ep. 13

I say “in audio” so much because I really feel like it’s required to hit people over the head with this. The listeners who enjoy my audio work barely say anything, like-click my work up the wazoo and so I am left with the more talkative types that tend to be other writers and readers of fanwork and see it as text solely. My work is not only text. If one has a problem differentiating between functions of the ears and the eyes, as well as the switch in comprehension between the two, I think one needs more than Dr. Hoffman to help out with that.

This is why signing on to the podcast pages and radio drama sites sometimes gives more scope to what I’m doing. It’s audio. And what do they say, overall, is the worst part of this work? Editing. Deleting “um”‘s, coughs, burps, you name it. What is remarkable is on one radio drama site I found, I got to look through a conversation about hired actors and directors. Me? I’m doing it all on that account. Why? I’m socially isolated. Who the hell was I going to hire?

Minus the lovable bits of Sir Simon Milligan and Manservant Hecubus, there are about seven scenes in this episode to The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows.

In the last two days I had to go over Barnabas and Julia arguing and yelling at each other, amplify bits, change pitches here and there and with Barnabas it truly is per word sometimes. Jonathan Frid’s Barnabas Collins is just that difficult to get anywhere close to… well… close!

1922206_10152773780784381_2756756244682689709_n

Not the correct house but I didn’t want to re-use the photo from another post.

Now, for people who don’t speak up, I asked the question of whether or not Julia was going to cry out, “Horse-spit” or “Horseshit” in this episode. The only person who spoke up on that point was Helena. So, guess what? She had the singular deciding vote. Julia is going to scream “Horseshit” at Barnabas in this one. Don’t like it? Well, as the cast in Clue are so fond of saying, “To make a long story short… Too Late.”

Next I had to go over, yet again, Wadsworth encountering Mr. Loomis in his quarters at Wyndcliff Sanitarium. Since Wadsworth is missing in episode 12 after taking a walk with Professor Stokes in episode 11, Professor Stokes is the person who decides it’s about time to bring Wadsworth and Willie together. Professor Stokes has already been incorporating calligraphy into Willie Loomis’ routine. Stokes also understands that both have worked for Barnabas Collins as men of service, so they already have something in common. What more might there be?

Wadsworth with Broom 254484_300

If anyone knows me on facebook I was shaking my fist last night because Wadsworth’s lines were making the microphone pop when I performed them. So I had to re-perform those lines today. I thanked a person on youtube for a video of Wadsworth and Miss Scarlet so I didn’t have to whip out the DVD of Clue. However, I only had to change three words after all of that work. That’s how intensive this labour is. It’s for this reason I spiral out of control online sometimes. I have approximately 500-700 listeners at this point and getting people to discuss the humour or scenes with me is like pulling tusks out of a still alive and kicking elephant. Why is this? I can only speculate. Whenever I’ve enjoyed hard work online I speak up immediately and often. This is the reason one of the first persons I contacted in my struggle was the maker of the DS Annotations videos. Unfortunately for me she’s moved on from Dark Shadows, but her videos of old still reign supreme. It was also the reason I expected vocal reaction to my humourous series. DS Annotations on youtube had plenty!

After Wadsworthe and Willie is the scene between Sam and Maggie… or I should say Sam as a reincarnated Andre Dupres and Maggie as the reincarnated of Josette Dupres, and them both working things out. I wanted to save Sam Evans… how I came up with him being Andre Dupres is rather easy considering all the reincarnation swarming over Collinwood… but the characters must have guided me to this newer relationship. Considering Sam and Maggie, as father and daughter, they have a friendship that astounds me and always has. They can dig at each other and joke about those digs. Sam is also so down-to-earth that understanding what happens in her marriage to Barnabas in Margaret Josette Dupres only bothers him marginally. After comprehending so much super-natural broo-ha, as well as the understanding an artist has in the depth of love he likely experienced with both of his wives, Marie la Freniére as Andre and Maggie’s mother as Sam, it only fazes him slightly in the knowledge of what Josette attains with Barnabas in that novel, but… as he says… he does not dwell on it.

maggie_sam

“Our archivist and Victoria Winters can do all the dwelling they want to if it pleases them. Ahem!”

In this scene for The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows, revised from the original text last October (2013), Sam makes a point of being sure Maggie, as Josette, understands that even though Barnabas was wretched for kidnapping her, the main problem is that he wasn’t doing it because he wanted to, he did it because he was made insane from being cursed and being comatose for so long. The real threat to all of their happiness, as they remember, was her friend Angelique, and that was all due to Barnabas not loving her and loving Josette instead. Maggie promises she’ll reflect on that as she exits to sit on the porch.

This is another reason why I adore Sam’s relationship with Captain Daniel Gregg. Gregg is the one who supports all of this in episode 12. He has to remind Sam that it was Angelique, and since Captain Gregg is known for not being a feminist this is an easy point for him to make. *heart* (Quite easy for The Captain, too; He’s just had to suffer Endora’s wrath from Bewitched in episode 11!)

After that is a rather short phone call of Dr. Hoffman to her workroom at Wyndcliff because she’s so frazzled trying to locate her new buddy, Professor Stokes, to request help for her worries over her other friend, Barnabas Collins, she’ll try anything, even *gasp* calling her very neglected office.

I already discussed the scene with Tom, Lily Munster, Elizabeth Stoddard and the ghost of Caleb Collins in another entry…

Next?

Uncle Fester, Morticia Addams, Victoria Winters and, Grandmama! ^_^

Leave a Reply

