Awaiting the soundtrack for the film “Clue” (1985)

ww1

If I had Photoshop I could do better than this, but for now this is as close as we’re getting to Wadsworth and Willie. Two men of service, but one is menial while the other is aristocratic. Wadsworth is a wonderful go between for Barnabas Collins and Willie Loomis. He can understand both of them easily. If anyone heard my intro to episode 13 for The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows, you might have caught my husband and I squaring away a few details on this pair. I finally got to editing that today. And ohhh… Willie sounds soooooooo much better than last year!

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank Magical Irish Dolphin for detailing various Big Finish Audio productions of Dark Shadows. I wanted to hear Andrew “Barnabas” Collins voice to see if I could get a better take on Jonathan Frid. She steered me to “The Christmas Presence” as short, affordable and what I might enjoy.

I hope I don’t get put into the dog house to confess that Andrew Collins made me see Barnabas Collins in Arthur Dent’s robe. The voice was too British slick, not that I wouldn’t wish him to perform an audio version, with certain others, of “Margaret Josette Dupres (a novel)”. However, the purchase was not a waste. I don’t mind visualizing Maggie Evans kissing Barnabas Collins in Arthur Dent’s robe under the mistletoe. I almost feel like The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows is closer to the original show because of my recording flaws, whereas Big Finish audio productions are far too smooth. It seems the most elegant creme and with Dark Shadows I’m used to a nice homemade pudding.

Better, though, and back on topic, was John Karlen’s performance! Yes! This I CAN use! Although here I am struggling to find a gentler Willie Loomis. John Karlen wanted him to get crazier according to his interviews. So in “The Christmas Presence” I heard Willie Loomis hurting and I want to writhe… and then I hear John Karlen having a blast and… I’M SO TORN! Ahhh!!! But his voice is as good as ever in “The Christmas Presence”. And Angelique is no where near the redeemed place I want her after all of this time as she’s giving Willie shit. Grrr!!!! *shaking fist* I’ve gotta get Endora to whip you into shape, WOMAN!

But I only use this audio to get the voices down, not to obtain story lines to fix. The daytime drama of Dark Shadows over one thousand episodes is more than enough for me! Phew! And there is that annoying bit of Maggie saying, yet again, “I don’t know, Barnabas is just so familiar, as though I’ve known him forever.” ARGGG!!! Why is this reincarnation thing so obvious but so damned unpopular that I have to bulldoze through it with a multi-fandom?

So there I was at the microphone and in one ear I’ve got “Clue” playing so as to listen to Wadsworth. On my mp3 player, I have “The Christmas Presence” and Willie Loomis freaking out in my other ear. Yes, I wear two sets of headphones sometimes. Switching between voice performances was tough with those different accents and inflections! Yeesh! And some snapping effect happened some of the time so I may have to re-perform a few lines. Ugh… But as I listen to it, I began to hear the quirky background music to “Clue”. Uh-oh… Oh! I have got to get the soundtrack! I just have to. It ain’t cheap either. So I await it’s arrival. I have plenty of work while I’m at it.

I still have about fourteen states of college radio stations to email. I need to buy more postage stamps. I’m out of the whole dollar ones already. Not as many stations as I’d hoped but more than I expected. One already let me know they’re going to cut some stuff or maybe fade it out but I don’t mind as long as it gets played. One can’t have everything. I also made it a point to announce the P.O. Box address on air because people who like it and are going online to soak up freebies anyway will do that regardless so they don’t have to be told. I’d rather this was a pen pal community in all honesty.

I’ve also found myself getting rather bored of facebook. If people can be so bloody chatty about Dark Shadows in general and all of the topics that come up, why can’t they be chatty about my show? Should I actually make a group page for it? How would I describe that? A Dark Shadows with extras page and summarize it as, “For fans of the radio drama The Pit of Ultimate Dark Shadows with exclusive preference to pairings so we can all shelter amongst us precious few?” Should I just make a Barnabas/Josette page? A Barnabas/Maggie page? A Barnabas and the many lives of Josette Dupres page? An exclusive page that promotes inclusiveness? If I had just come up with a U.U. Minister for “Margaret Josette Dupres” I guess I could make it his page. Heck, if I’m saving Ezra Braithwaite, maybe he’s Unitarian and he could be the minister at their wedding! The Ezra Braithwaite, Unitarian Minister page?

But while I’m editing, which is boring, facebook is a fairly decent go between as far as bitty breaks between saving files and what not. I’ve actually found myself like-clicking less because I’m just so bored by the concept. It didn’t take me long, I’m glad to confess.

Meanwhile, I shall await some lovely background music, never before heard at Wyndcliffe Sanitarium.

Clue_ the Movie

2 thoughts on “Awaiting the soundtrack for the film “Clue” (1985)

  1. Sorry that Facebook isn’t giving you what wanted, but I hope that the Clue soundtrack is to your satisfaction when you get it. I wonder what all is on it besides “Shake, Rattle, and Roll”? Oh, and who is this Andrew Collins? I’m familiar with other DS stuff besides the revival and Burton films, and of course, fanfiction.

    • morlock13 says:

      Oh that soundtrack sure should be satisfying! 9 bonus tracks, so they say! I’m just glad I found a version of Shake, Rattle & Roll exactly like the one in the film before I recorded my first episode for the 3rd time (which is in the podcast now).

      Andrew Collins is a British voice actor who plays Barnabas in a few Big Finish audio productions. I’m figuring he’s well respected because actually IS British. I’d respect anyone giving it a try, regardless. (I would since I hafta do it myself.)

      I’ve seen his photo and I’ve found his profile. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been tempted to approach him for a hire of reading MJD and I ain’t kidding.

Leave a Reply

